Skip to content

To All Our Dev Friends – Tarjan’s Goodbye Yahoo Video

March 28, 2010

Paul Tarjan worked at Yahoo for 3 years where he helped create Search Monkey. He recently left Yahoo for a job at Facebook. To memorialize his 1,032 days at Yahoo, Paul released on YouTube, a good-natured parody video of Weird Al Yankovic’s parody of Chamillionaire’s “Ridin” where he raps about PHP, JavaScript and HackU.

Lyrics:

They see my writing
My own song
I know they’re all thinking
I’m so White N’ Nerdy
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
Can’t you see I’m white n’ nerdy
Look at me I’m white n’ nerdy!
I wanna roll with-
The pranksters
But so far they all think
I’m too white n’ nerdy
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
I’m just too white n’ nerdy
Really, really white n’ nerdy

Last in my chair here at YST
Got skills I’m a champion of PHP
SearchMonkey’s my favorite Monkey
Free soda and endless chai tea.
My code never crashes to the contrary
You’ll find its quite stationary
None of my yroot installs are cherry
YUI in my library
My hacking page is all totally pimped out
I got people begging some hosting spaces
Yo I know Pi to thirty places
Ain’t got no achievements but I still make faces
I order all of my pasta with bolonaise
I’m a whiz at rock band I can play for days
Once you see my sweet moves you’re gonna stay amazed,
My sticks movin’ so fast I’ll set the place ablaze
There’s a hack day that I won
At YAML, well, I’m number 1
Do coding problems just for fun
I ain’t no exec, but Superstar I won
SearchMonkey is my favourite theme song
I look great with a wizard hat on
I’ll ace any Yahoo! quiz you bring on
I’m fluent in JavaScript but don’t know Klingon
Here’s the part I sing on

They see me roll on, my unicycle!
I know in my heart they think I’m
white n’ nerdy!
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
Can’t you see I’m white n’ nerdy
Look at me I’m white n’ nerdy
I’d like to roll with-
The prankster
Although it’s apparent I’m too
White n’ nerdy
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
I’m just too white n’ nerdy
How’d I get so white n’ nerdy?

Filo and Jerry I’ve been respectin’
Monkey things you know I collect ’em
Cross-site scripting I must protect ’em
My T-shirt collection is nearing perfection
Presenting at HackU with a variety of media
I edit Wikipedia
I inspire HackU student’s really well
But when I juggle they all ROTFLOL
I got some patents for some websites,
When Yahoo! needs some code who do they call?
They come and say “Hey Paul?”
I try to help them all
Yo! Got hit with a purple pack
And I bleed purple while I hack
Spend my nightsthinking what we lack
POP POP! What should we name thee? SearchMonkey!
I’m nerdy in the extreme and will miss this team
I was in Amit’s club and Kevin’s club and Bob’s regime,
Now that my time, has come to end
I’ll miss you all, my Yahoo! friends
You’re a good bunch of engineers
Thank you all for a great 3 years.

They see me strollin’
They laughin’
And rollin’ their eyes ’cause
I’m so white n’ nerdy
Just because I’m white n’ nerdy
Just because I’m white n’ nerdy
All because I’m white n’ nerdy
Holy cow I’m white n’ nerdy
I wanna roll with-
the hackers
but oh well it’s obvious I’m
white n’ nerdy
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
Think I’m just too white n’ nerdy
I’m just too white n’ nerdy
Look at me I’m white n’ nerdy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

